Freeholders Reorganize

January 20, 2012
Print Friendly

To The Editor:

Two weeks ago, the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders bid farewell to Freeholder Robert D. Clifton and welcomed Gary J. Rich Sr. of Spring Lake. The Board also installed Freeholder John P. Curley as Director of the Board for 2012.
Rich won his first term on the Freeholder Board last November and Clifton won a seat in the New Jersey General Assembly representing the redrawn 12 Legislative District. Clifton resigned his freeholder post two days after the county organization meeting Jan. 5 so that he could be sworn into the State Assembly.
Joining Rich during the swearing-in ceremony was his running mate, Freeholder Lillian G. Burry, who won election to her third term on the Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders, and Rosemarie D. Peters, who took the oath of office to begin her second, five-year term as County Surrogate.
This past Saturday, the Monmouth County Republican Committee – representatives who serve as GOP leaders in their hometown voting districts – gathered at Colts Neck High School and elected Serena DiMaso of Holmdel to fill Clifton’s unexpired, one-year term. She was sworn in as a freeholder after the vote.
In addition to the selection of Curley to lead the Freeholder Board this year, my colleagues selected me to serve as deputy director. The freeholder area of responsibilities for 2012 are as a follows:
Director John P. Curley – Department of Human Services, which includes the Divisions of Aging, Disabilities and Veterans Services; Addiction Services, Social Services; Planning and Contracting; County Adjuster; Juvenile Detention Alternative Initiative (JDAI); Transportation, and Board of Health. In addition, Director Curley oversees the Monmouth County Fire Academy and Brookdale Community College.
Deputy Director Thomas A. Arnone – Department of Public Works and Engineering, which includes the divisions of Bridges; Buildings and Grounds, Engineering, Fleet Management and Highway. Deputy Director Arnone also oversees the Mosquito Extermination Commission, Economic Development, Workforce Development, Shared Services and Public Information and Tourism.
Freeholder Lillian G. Burry – Parks, Libraries and Public Services, which includes Parks; Libraries; Prosecutor’s Office, Sheriff’s Office, County Clerk, Surrogate, Office of Emergency Management (OEM), Office of Records Management, Vocational Schools, Board of Elections, Superintendent of Elections, Medical Examiner’s Office, Rutgers Extension Services, Consumer Affairs, Construction Board of Appeals and the Monmouth County Police Academy.
Freeholder Gary J. Rich Sr. – Finance and Administration, which includes the County Administrator; County Counsel; Clerk of the Board; Information Technology Services (ITS); Insurance and Risk Management; Human Resources; Finance; Purchasing, and the Board of Taxation.
Freeholder Serena DiMaso – Superintendent of Schools, Weights and Measures; Improvement Authority; Reclamation Center; Shade Tree Commission, and the Belford Ferry.
The freeholders also made a number of citizen member appointments to various county boards and commissions, including:

A Closer Look At The Water Bill

• Advisory Council to the Monmouth County Office on Aging (three-year terms) – Rose Marie Kakol of Middletown, Sarah Larsen of Hazlet, Milton Ziment of Long Branch and Thomas W. Adcock of Neptune City.
• Agriculture Development Board – Regular members (three year terms) Martin Bullock of Upper Freehold Township and Arthur Giambrone of Freehold; alternate members (one-year terms) Patricia Butch of Millstone and Ross Clayton of Freehold.
• Addiction Services (three-year terms) – Richard Bernhardt of Allenhurst, Dr. Robert Gabel, M.D. of Little Silver, Vicky Nelson of Red Bank, John Verdon, Jr. of Red Bank and Ronald Povolo of Keansburg.
• Construction Board of Appeals – Regular member (four-year term) Richard Hogan of Manalapan; alternate member Henry Stryker of Freehold.
• Environmental Protection Council (three-year terms) – Wilma Morrisey of Wall and Scott Thompson of Rumson.
• Historical Commission (three-year terms) – R. Glenn Cashion of Middletown, Barbara Kolarsick-Harrigan of Spring Lake and Joseph A. Grabas of Freehold.
• Library Commission (three-year term) – Nancy Grbelja of Millstone.
• Mosquito Extermination Commission – (three-year terms) William McBride of Monmouth Beach and John Mele of Upper Freehold Township.
• Planning Board – Regular members (three-year terms) Vincent Domidion of Colts Neck, Nancy Grbelja of Millstone and James Giannell of Red Bank (unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2013); as alternate citizen members (one-year terms) Charles Casagrande of Spring Lake and Craig S. Marshall of Marlboro.
• Board of Recreation Commissioners (five-year terms) – Thomas Hennessy of Colts Neck, Kevin Mandeville of Matawan and Mark Zelina of Holmdel (unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2012).
• Senior Citizen and Disabled Resident Transportation Advisory Committee (three-year terms) – J. Randy Bishop of Ocean Grove, Sarah Larsen of Hazlet, James Marzano of Union Beach, Elaine McNamara of Freehold and Theodore Narozanick of Freehold.
• Shade Tree Commission (five-year term) – Gary DeFelice of Red Bank
• Transportation Council (three-year terms) – Peter Vannortwick of Middletown and Nancy Grbelja of Millstone (as Planning Board representative); alternate members Selika Josiah-Gore of Marlboro and Thomas Grimes of Freehold.
• Workforce Investment Board (three-year terms) – Ben Waldron of Lanoka Harbor, who is also the Executive Director of Monmouth-Ocean Development Council, and Patricia Koziol of Holmdel.
• Youth Services Commission (three-year terms) – Amy Altenhaus, PhD. of Freehold, Kathi Callaghan of Wall, Kathy Collins of West Long Branch, Henry Davis of Middletown, Wendy DePedro of Eatontown, Eileen Higgins of Fair Haven, Carl Jennings of Long Branch, Kathleen Weir of Middletown and Joseph Passiment of Toms River, who also represents the county’s Office of the Superintendent of Schools, and Kim Best of Middletown (unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2012).
For additional information about Monmouth County and the Board of Chosen Freeholders, visit the county’s Website at
Thomas A. Arnone
Deputy Director
The Monmouth County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Commentary: Not a Moment, A Movement

If you liked this story, you’ll love our newspaper. Click here to subscribe

You may also like